Posted: 19 Oct 2007 11:03 Post Subject:
Good question. I'm going to say no. It would then go to possible health insurance.
Posted: 20 Oct 2007 11:55 Post Subject:
I don't think you can decline P.I.P. can you? If you are in a no fault state is it not required? Looks to me that Texas is not a 'P.I.P.' state. Don't know that you can even purchase P.I.P. if not in a 'no fault' state. :?
is there another part of the policy that covers my injuries in a wreck that is my fault?You can purchase 'medical payments' coverage that will cover your injuries. That coverage is available in addition to P.I.P. (in P.I.P. states as well as all others) of course Uninsured Motorist (bodily injury protection) will cover injuries you sustain that are caused by an uninsured motorist.
Texas' financial repsonibility laws are ;
The law currently requires minimum coverage of $20,000 per injured person, up to a total of $40,000 for everyone injured in an accident, and $15,000 for property damage (20/40/15 coverage). On April 1, 2008, the minimum required liability limits increase to $25,000 per injured person, $50,000 for everyone injured in an accident, and $25,000 for property damage (25/50/25).
Posted: 20 Oct 2007 02:58 Post Subject:
Thanks for the responses.
I'm renewing my coverage and was told if I decline the PIP (I'm adding my 17 yr old son to my policy and was looking for ways to keep the costs down), I'd have to sign a waiver. I was inclined to think that there would not be any other medical coverage and it would fall to my health insurance. Just trying to find out for sure.
Posted: 20 Oct 2007 04:16 Post Subject:
If you have him covered under health insurance then you might consider not obtaining PIP coverage (as Lori stated, Medical Payments?). But certainlly take a look at the cost. If it's a lower amount and the system is working in TX, the coverage may not cost that much.