Filing insurance complaints with commissioner

Message Author
ampm-bookmark
delicious-small Add to delicious
yahoomyweb-small Add to YahooMyWeb
blinklist-small Add to BlinkList
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 5:57 am   Post subject: Filing insurance complaints with commissioner  

Friends..please tell me about the must-knows while filing any insurance complaint with the state insurance commissioner.


_________________
Register Now to have your Insurance queries solved.
ColoBuzzRudie
Guest







PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 6:10 am   Post subject:   

See..I'm sure you'd be aware of the fact that the insurance commissioners have this uphill task of meeting thousands of complaints each year. Such complaints may comprise of claim-settlement issues involving insurance companies as also service related issues. So, I don't see any reason why you should be skeptical about filing an insurance complaint with the state insurance commissioner. Purpleheaded08


_________________
Register Now to have your Insurance queries solved.
Purpleheaded08
Guest







PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 6:28 am   Post subject:   

Yes dear, you should always know your rights before you're gonna consider buying a policy or even before you consider the online quotes. You'd need to be prepared to file a complaint with the commissioner.



I think there is a complaint form available in the insurance commissioner's website. You may need to download it from there. You'd be informed about the process through this website. It would be better for you to maintain your phone conversation records as well as the contact information of the agents involved.I'm sure this is gonna help you a lot for all your future references. Crossbreed


_________________
Register Now to have your Insurance queries solved.
Crossbreed
Guest







PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 7:00 am   Post subject:   

Hi,

Quote:
It would be better for you to maintain your phone conversation records as well as the contact information of the agents involved.


I think almost all insurance companies now have claims departments as well as call centres. But it is important for you to know that every time you'd call them, you'd come across a new voice n the other side. So, you'd better be prepared with your records.



Once you'd go through the process as mentioned in the website and have all the documents in place, it would certainly be easier for you to file it to your commissioner. Caromel_merquez

_________________
Register Now to have your Insurance queries solved.
Caromel_merquez
Guest







PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 7:18 am   Post subject:   

Yes,filing the complaint is not that tough..

Once you file it..it would be up to the commissioner's office to get back to you in case they need any further documents. It is natural for the commissioner to send a copy of your complaint letter to your carrier and they would be asked to reciprocate within a stipulated time frame. Under circumstances that you commissioner feels that the response forwarded by your carrier is justified, they would certainly convey it to you.



On the other hand, if the cause is not accepted as "justified" by the commissioner, then your case would be passed on to a state designated professional who'd involve both you and your carrier to work together towards solving the issue maintaining the compliance guidelines.

ArindamSenIndies

ArindamSenIndies
Senior member
Leave a quick message

ArindamSenIndies

Joined: 14 Feb 2007
Posts: 360


68.95 Dollars($)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 7:24 am   Post subject:   

Hey there,

I'd certainly agree with your saying regarding the state designated person...but one thing I'd like to mention over here is that this person would never be able to guide you as an attorney!

You should always keep the option of hiring an attorney open..It would be your lender of last resort in case you're not so confident of dealing with your insurance carrier or if the cause of your complaint seems inexplicable to any party.

Evan

evan
Moderator
Leave a quick message

evan

Joined: 01 May 2005
Posts: 1274


179.40 Dollars($)

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 1:15 pm   Post subject: roof inspection  

I was told my dad's house could not be reinsured because of its condition, one aspect being the roof; when I had a roofer out he could find nothing wrong; when I recontacted the insurance company I was told it had been inspected and given the inspector's name and retold that it had been deemed unreinsurable but they could not provide me with a copy of the inspection report noting the exact issues. Upon going through a long process to endeavor to get this information I was finally informed by their executive office that if I continued to inquire about this matter, I would be charged with harrassment


_________________
Register Now to have your Insurance queries solved.
donnalee
Guest







Quick Reply
Your Name
Subject
Message body
All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1


Get a Quote
Ask Community Experts

flash plugin

Quick Links

Must See

Community

Hot topics in forums

Latest in blogs

    Connection Error: Connection refused