Posted: 05 Jan 2008 08:06 Post Subject:
The moment it's driven on public roads.
Usually insurance policies will transfer coverage over to a newly purchased vehicle for 30 days but you would need to review your policy or ask your agent to confirm this.
Posted: 05 Jan 2008 09:03 Post Subject: Purchase it at your earliest
My friend, its always wise to obtain an insurance on the car as early as possible. Therefore, don't wait for the time period to lapse and purchase the coverage at your earliest. If you fail to show the proof of insurance at any point of time you may invite far reaching consequences. A first time offender may need to carry SR-22 for a year if he/she fails to show the proof of insurance and the time period may get extended upto 3 years if you repeat it for the second time.
Posted: 05 Jan 2008 09:26 Post Subject:
Yea, both of you are right. BUY AUTO INSURANCE AT YOUR EARLIEST.
In Idaho you may not have to show the proof of insurance at the time of registering the car but need to write a statement that you'll get it at the earliest possibility. Hope it make sense to you............ :)
Posted: 10 Jan 2008 12:07 Post Subject:
I think what was meant is: How long can I own the car before I can get penalized for having no insurance?
Seems kind of stupid to buy insurance for a car you don't own, or drive up to the insurance place with no insurance.
"Have you ever driven without insurance?"
"Have you ever driven with insurance?"
"I'll cover you for $20,000 at 1000/month."
Posted: 20 Dec 2009 06:40 Post Subject: time allowed to get insurance on a car after buying in Calif
seven days ago I bought a truck from a private party. after doing some minor repairs to the seat so that I could safely drive it I contacted my agents office but was told he wouldn't be in until monday. Can I drive the truck into town six miles away to fill gas tank? :D
Posted: 20 Dec 2009 07:32 Post Subject:
You really need to read your policy to know but most will extend liability coverage if its a replacement vehicle. If its an additional vehicle then you'd really need to look at your policy.
Posted: 20 Dec 2009 08:53 Post Subject: insurance
Well.......of course it's up to YOU whether or not you drive un-insured. ANYTHING can happen, though...keep that in mind. Also..keep in mind, it's aqainst the law to drive without Insurance.
Posted: 31 Dec 2009 03:57 Post Subject:
Under the state law, you are required to purchase insurance for an automobile the moment you are to drive it on any hwy. or roads. Insurance is different than vehicle tags to where you are allowed usually up to 10 days after purchase to get a tag. Insurance is immediately. Actually some dealers will not let you leave the lot with a vehicle you are purchasing, until it is fully insured. Hope this helps.
Posted: 31 Dec 2009 04:28 Post Subject:
You don't have to "purchase" insurance... the vehicle needs to have insurance on it. In many cases the insurance can be automatic under the existing policy... at least for a certain duration. This is important to note.
Also, you don't have 10 days to get a tag on a vehicle. It needs to have a tag from the second it operated on public roads. This is usually done via temp tag. Temp tags usually are allows for longer then 10 days (usually 30 or 45 days).
Posted: 31 Dec 2009 04:48 Post Subject:
All licensed drivers in Idaho are required by law to carry liability auto insurance for their vehicles. Drivers who fail to obtain insurance cannot legally drive in the state. While drivers have several choices among insurance carriers, there are requirements as to what must be included in each policy. While coverage beyond that of bodily injury is not required, additional coverage for auto damage is permitted. Idaho law requires that motor vehicle owners must register their vehicle with the Idaho Division of Motor Vehicles before taking it on the road. Both new and second-hand vehicles must be registered, regardless of whether they are purchased from a dealer or an individual. In addition, new Idaho residents who have registered their vehicle in another state must register their vehicle in Idaho. The initial vehicle registration must be done in person, and registration renewals must be done annually, either in person, online or by mail.
If you purchase a vehicle in Idaho itself, you have 30 days to register it. You will be fined $20 if you register it after this period. If you have bought a vehicle outside Idaho, you will need to register it within 30 days of bringing it into the State.
Posted: 31 Dec 2009 06:00 Post Subject:
Insurance is different than vehicle tags to where you are allowed usually up to 10 days after purchase to get a tag.
If you purchase a vehicle in Idaho itself, you have 30 days to register it.??????
From the Idaho Transportation Dept:
"If you are a new resident, you must register and title your vehicle(s) within 90 days."
It goes on to mention the following:
"The vehicle must belong to an Idaho resident or business."
"An Idaho resident is anyone whose principal home has been in Idaho for 90 continuous days, although residency may be declared at any time earlier, and vehicles may be titled and registered at that time. Idaho residents who are temporarily in another state (i.e., students or military personnel) may request titles and registrations for their vehicle(s) through the mail."
So it's not 10 days and it's not 30 days... it's 90 days for an Idaho registration. But none of that applies unless you are a resident of Idaho.
All vehicles need to be registered somewhere in order to be driving on public roads.